After Armageddon: the Future of Weird Poetry

Type: 
Panel Discussion
Location: 
EOD Center
Date and time: 
Saturday, October 5, 2019 -
7:00pm to 8:00pm

Panel discussion with K A Opperman, Ashley Dioses, Adam Bolivar, D L Myers, S.T. Joshi

There has been much discussion about the renaissance of Weird poetry in recent years. But what of its future? How will rapidly changing media affect an art form which has endured since the dawn of history? Could an AI convincingly compose traditional forms of metered and rhymed poetry? Will there be ballads about Martian pioneers? Weird poets will dig into this topic and muse on the future of speculative versification.

in the classroom.

S. T. Joshi is the author of such critical studies as The Weird Tale (Univ. of Texas Press, 1990), H. P. Lovecraft: The Decline of the West (Starmont House, 1990), The Modern Weird Tale (McFarland, 2001), and Unutterable Horror: A History of Supernatural Fiction (PS Publishing, 2012). He has edited a corrected edition of H. P. Lovecraft’s fiction (Collected Fiction: A Variorum Edition [Hippocampus Press, 2015–16]) as well as The Ancient Track: Complete Poetical Works (Night Shade Books, 2001; rev. ed.

Adam Bolivar is a dark poet, weird fiction writer and marionettist whose work has appeared on the pages of Black Wings, Spectral Realms, the Lovecraft eZine, and in anthologies published by Hippocampus Press, Chaosium and Eraserhead Press. His first book, The Fall of the House of Drake, was published by Dunhams Manor in 2015. His second book, The Lay of Old Hex, a collection of spectral balladry, is forthcoming from Hippocampus Press. Bolivar’s poetry has received acclaim from leading Lovecraftian scholar and critic S. T.

Ashley Dioses is a poet of dark fantasy and horror from southern California. She is currently working on her first book of dark traditional poetry to be out from Hippocampus Press, hopefully this year. Her poetry has appeared in Weird Fiction Review, Spectral Realms, Weirdbook Magazine, Omnium Gatherum Media, Eye to the Telescope, Xnoybis, Necronomicum, Gothic Blue Book, and elsewhere. Her poem, “Carathis”, published inSpectral Realms No. 1, is mentioned in Ellen Datlow's full recommended Best Horror of the Year Volume Seven list. She blogs at fiendlover.blogspot.com.

A native southern Californian, K. A. Opperman is a poet of horror and fantasy writing in the Weird tradition of H. P. Lovecraft and Clark Ashton Smith. His work has appeared in such notable publications as Spectral Realms, Weird Fiction Review, Weirdbook, Skelos, Gothic Blue Book, the Horror Writers Association's Horror Poetry Showcase, and many other magazines. His debut book-length verse collection The Crimson Tome was released by Hippocampus Press in August 2015, and he has a second collection well underway.

D. L. Myers is a writer of Weird poetry in the vein of H. P. Lovecraft, Clark Ashton Smith and Robert E. Howard. His work has appeared in Spectral Realms, Halloween Howlings and K. A. Opperman's The Crimson Tome. He also is an accomplished reader of poetry, and he does a weekly video poetry reading of contemporary and classic Weird poets, as well as his own work, which he posts on his blog vulravin.blogspot.com. He also had his debut live poetry reading at the H. P. Lovecraft Film Festival, San Pedro.